Home > Uncategorized > Catchup Links

Catchup Links

I took a break from the internet (a whole 5 days!) as I celebrated the best ideas of a certain group of 18th century slave-holding tax evaders. I missed a lot of good reads and am still playing catchup, but this is last week’s best of the best.

 

When Rape Victims Lie: very applicable to the DSK case. Women who lie get raped too.

Keynes Biographer on Keynes: My rampant misquotations now extend to JMK, who according to this guy, didn’t say he changes his mind when the facts change. This is still a pretty

Martin Feldstein on the US Economy: “It’s sucking”. For those who don’t know, Feldstein is currently an econ professor at Harvard, and before that he was on Reagen’s economics advising team. He was the contrarian of the bunch, advising Reagan not to increase the deficit. This has always endeared him to me.

A War By Any Other Name: we get closer and closer to Orwell’s vision in 1984 everyday. War that is endless, perpetual, meaningless?

World Bank Opening Up The Data Treasure Troves: economists across the globe are more jubilant than they’ve been since 2008.

Kissinger on China (Interview):Yeah, he’s shilling for his book, which I have been avoiding just because I have the feeling that he can’t tell me anything I don’t already know, and also because the book is probably very self-serving. But this interview is brief, and the book is long, so pick the lesser of the two evils.

Better Lives in Mexico Lead to Less Immigration North: “They took our jeobs!”, but not as many as before. I’m sure this article isn’t going to convert anyone to my “almost completely open border” platform, but it is a good story in an immigration debate that is fueled almost entirely by ignorance and emotional anecdotes.

NY Times (Short) Profile on Brian Eno: mainly about his new collaboration with some English poet of whom I’ve never heard. In any case, Eno is a boss and drops gems.

“The whole history of pop music had rested on the first person singular, with occasional intrusions of the second person singular,” he said. (To illustrate his point, he briefly affected a teeny-bopper croon: “I am this, I think this, and you do this, and you are this.”) “I was so bored with the idea of the whole song being based around some individual’s narrative. So I started working on ways to try to get rid of the idea that the voice in the song was the voice of the song, that that was the center of the meaning of the song.”

Assimilation’s Failure, Terrorism’s Rise: Best piece I can remember reading about the effects of public policy on marginalizing (and eventually radicalizing) immigrant groups. Nominally about Britain, but just as applicable to the United States and the rise of the Black Panthers, MS-13, and any number of terrorist or just plain criminal minority groups (I know the Black Panther’s aren’t immigrants, but they are a failure of public policy).

Drugs and The Meaning of Life: I plan on writing more about this later, but for now, here is a great article about the psychedelic experience.

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

